Writing. #1

This will be a little about me to start. I liked to write/imagine things as a kid. I haven’t written much in a long time, but I’ve started getting back into it. I also like games. So I’ve combined my start in RPGs (I played a little bit of D&D 3.5e, back in like 2009) with writing. I like fantasy books. So I’m using the concepts of how an RPG campaign should be and how a story should be, and combining them to make an actual story.

I also found a tool for RPG gamers, called “Hexographer”, does what it sounds like, creates hexagonal based maps. There’s a free trial version, which is all I have right now. I’ve made a map, and am trying to come up with what my starting city should look like. I probably should go through and create a database of names for various types of things, but I’m just looking up random name generators as I need them. I frequently use d20 SRD as a resource for information, they have a basic set of tools to use for developing a character, playing, and designing a world.

This is my map so far.

The names will change. Human Lands is not a very good name for a country. But it gets the point across so I don’t forget what I’m building. 🙂

my map. using inkwellideas.com Hexographer

my world. Created using Hexographer, created by http://inkwellideas.com/

My character lives in the city down in the bottom right corner. Technically a town, around 1000 people. For those not familiar, this is not all human people. He is just starting his adventuring life. After working as a silversmith in a struggling economy.

Next step will be to refine my first draft of what is labelled as chapter 1. It will probably turn into a couple of chapters, because there is some missing detail.

Any thoughts? I'd like to hear from you!

