My HP-Paq

I’m typing this from my new/old desktop (it’s a Compaq Presario case, with an HP motherboard, an HP-Paq šŸ™‚ ). I just tried putting it together again after leaving it for about a year. I had accidentally dropped a capacitor into it and messed something up. Based on what I did yesterday, it seems to be the power supply. I’ve been reading through the Comptia A+ manual (6th edition, McGraw Hill). A couple lessons from the book on troubleshooting a computer:

  1. If your system works fine and you change something, the thing you changed is likely what messed it up.
  2. When you’re putting in new RAM, if it doesn’t work, try a different RAM slot, and a different card, whatever gets it working.

I’m taking seriously the idea of getting A+ certified. My current goal is to have the first exam completed by this Fall. It’s a little ambitious, but I think it’s doable. The book says that an A+ certification is intended for an IT Tech with about 9 months of experience. I’m not an IT Tech, but I’ve done some advanced stuff for a basic computer user (on a 386 or 486 up until now šŸ™‚ ). I’ve installed Windows 3.1 and ’95, installed hard disks, installed sound cards, and set up home networks. Most of this has been at least 5 years ago, before the Army, when I had all the toys around to play with.

Any thoughts? I'd like to hear from you!

