My 50 Cent Cell Phone Case

My Tools

Here’s most of the tools I used. Needles on each end of the lacing for a little bit.

I made a cell phone case out of leather remnants from Hobby Lobby. (it might have cost even less than fifty cents!) I thought I was making a simple pair of shoes, which might come up later, but it was too ambitious a project. I’ve never made anything with leather. I can barely even sew on my own buttons! I bought a rotating punch, some needles, and some leather and lacing. All I did was cut a piece slightly taller than my phone (to allow for the thickness), and wrapped it around and added a little for the edge. Then I punched down the side, and accross the bottom. I’d post a tutorial about how to do it, but I don’t really have much solid information to post. I found a couple youtube videos on ‘how to saddle stitch’. That’s what I intended. If I understand it correctly, you run the thread through both sides of a hole, and make a knot for every hole in the stitch. I’m sure sometime soon I’ll understand how to do it and be able to. I ended up just running the lacing through the hole and pretending to make knots sometimes. I don’t quite understand it, but I’ll learn. And maybe I can teach you all something. So, for you minecrafters, try making something for real out of leather, but don’t try making a breastplate or helmet. That might be just a little too ambitious. 🙂

Suede Cellphone Case

My black suede cellphone case, inside out to show the stitching. 

On my belt

Here’s how it looks on my belt.

 

One thought on “My 50 Cent Cell Phone Case

  1. Pingback: Jeremy’s Random Shop… « Jeremy's Random Adventures

Any thoughts? I'd like to hear from you!

