Microcontroller Fun!

I was shopping around in Radio Shack last weekend and saw this cool little board in some of the project kits they had, and thought it would be something pretty cool to try. So I bought this.

The only problem that I have so far with the kit as it comes is I’m afraid I’ll break the solder joints on the board for the battery connection every time I take it off. So I bought a couple of 9V battery connectors and a switch, so I could make my solution to that problem. To hold the small components in place, I wrapped a rubber band around the handle of a pair of pliers. It really helped. So I’m putting that idea out for anyone who needs to hold something small in place to work on it, but doesn’t have the ‘right’ tool for the job.

Here’s a couple pictures of mine with the battery switch I made hooked up. And a couple to show my not-so-neat soldering job. πŸ™‚

I’ll post more about it later as it gets some more use. I’ve run it as an led blinker circuit, and a couple sound generator circuits too. One was a program to send out via a piezo buzzer the tones for my phone number. It’s pretty cool.

PS: The top two pictures were taken by my wife, a photographer. πŸ™‚

Any thoughts? I'd like to hear from you!

